The MOBA Season: Prologue

In which I explain shortly on how I got into the genre and my attempts to get to these series of videos…

mobalogo
(Unfortunately for Heroes of Newerth, I still kinda lack a lot of knowledge on them)

It all began when a certain event in console gaming shook me so much, as much as a geek like me could handle (We’ll get to that later), that I retreated to PC gaming. At first I was just an ex-Dota player, who played in my campus casually, and after that retreat, I discovered Steam… and Dota 2 was free! I was able to indulge myself in the game as a small retreat, but due to TV Tropes and a certain youtuber/content maker known as the Green Scorpion… Well, long story short, I got introduced with League of Legends. I was skeptical to join at first… until I discovered there was an Indonesian server provided by Garena.

Long story short, I simply got ADDICTED. I spent hours and hours within the year in playing that game, exploring its nuances, getting better. In addition, I also occasionally slips into Dota 2 as well. The latter is a harder game, but nonetheless enjoyable. And as time passed, more big stuffs came in, in form of Smite and Heroes of the Storm. All in all, I fell in love the MOBA genre for real… something that was supposed to be a runaway place.

However, as time passed and I also became more and more impressed with countdown makers… It hits me one thing… Most of them are only giving credits to League of Legends. I know everyone have their own preferences, and it’s okay… and it may be just me getting petty. But I thought that the other big MOBA games deserve their own recognition amongst the community. This, in addition of several unsavory stuffs amongst the genre… that is, being a fan war that attempts to badmouth the other product to make their own product look better… (for instance, ‘a Dota 2 fan calling the genre MOBA should be lambasted because it’s League that coined it, Dota 2 is ARTS damn it!’. No, shut up, enough with this elitism.) It doesn’t endear me one bit. It’s like saying you can only pick one. Pick just one to master with dedication, I can understand, but pick just one to love and badmouth the rest? The hell??

And that was why I made the MOBA Season series of videos. I might have very little audience so far and it still pained me, but does that deter me? No. I did it anyway, because I start to enjoy doing what I do and expressing love to what I like. The MOBA Season is basically a series of countdowns where I list up my favorite things in certain MOBAs, though I put it on hiatus for now to hopefully expand my area of interests in the eyes of many. Besides, I don’t call myself pro, I’m just your casual scrub who never played Ranked. So things are mostly on personal preferences.

And after this, I might even expand the season for things other than countdowns. For instance, common cliches that are often featured throughout every MOBAs. It’s not going to make your play style better, but it might be some interesting tidbits.

But for now, after this, I will first post the videos I have made so far for the Season, before I move on. If you’re interested in this… Good for you!

I’ll see you next time.

Leave a Reply

